| FORUM

FEDEVEL
Platform forum

Audio PCM/DSD DAC - PCM1795

SauceBoss , 01-27-2022, 04:55 AM
Hello,

First of all big thanks to Phil and Robert for bringing us the course and space to talk about it. Love you!

CONCEPT

Secondly, inspired by it I decided to shoot my shot at 4 layer design. For a long, long time I've wanted to build a DIY DSD capable DAC for my HiFi needs. What you see here is so-called proof of concept. It's a simple test mule to see if I can:
  • Make a good PCB
  • Run PCM1795 in SW mode (I'm total newb in programming)
  • Make it usable as USB DAC
I'm involved in Hi-Fi industry for a long time and electronics is my hobby. that means that I have a pretty solid idea of what I want this project to become. For now let's stay on topic. First we need a DAC chip. Currently choice is pretty limited, I’ll stick to the most important parts/manufacturers:
  • AKM Semi – excellent parts, preferable sound quality for me. Sadly after the fire two years ago they’re just begining to make chips again. So that’s a no-no.
  • ESS Sabre – currently top dog. Excellent specs, lately they became avaiable in Mouser/Digikey etc. They are known to be extremely dependent on application and parts around them. Worst part is their sound, I just don’t like them. They sound tiresome for me.
  • Crystal Semiconductor – they kinda stepped back after aquiring Wolfson. Their current range CS43198 is a decent sounding chip, but it’s only QFN.
  • Rohm – no idea what to think about it, we will see in the future.
  • Analog Devices – love those guys, they have an excelent rep here in Poland but AD1955 is old news
  • Texas Instruments (Burr-Brown) – the old guard, nice pleasant sound, avaiable. PCM1795 is modernized version of PCM1796, it does up to 32bit/384kHz (no that actually matters that much in my case) and DSD 2x. Also a friend of mine promised me samples, so there is that.

FIRST STEP - SCHEMATICS